OUR TAPROOM HISTORY
The Keough (Kough) building is a historic building in Bonavista which once formed part of the extensive Keough Premises, a thriving mercantile firm operating on Bonavista’s harbour front circa 1840-1910. Believed to have been built circa 1840-1860, the building is one of the oldest surviving mercantile buildings in Newfoundland.
The building was built by Patrick Keough (Kough), a Newfoundland merchant of Irish origin. Keough was in Bonavista by 1843, the year he brought light keeper Jeremiah White to Bonavista on one of his schooners, possibly the 101-ton Patty registered to him by 1831. The business appears to have been taken over by Patrick’s son, William (1834-1894) circa 1860-1870, and was subsequently passed to Francis P. (1870-1918), his grandson, in 1894. William Keough registered the Hound and the Minnie at Bonavista in 1870 and 1877, respectively. Francis P. Keough registered the 17-ton Florence May at Bonavista in 1897. The business appears to have closed by 1910.
The premises were bought by William House and Company around 1920 but in 2001, to save the building from being demolished for modern commercial premises, it was moved to its current location to become an integral part of the Church Street redevelopment to enhance the historic character of the street by providing a building of great architectural interest in a highly visible and central location.
Bonavista Brewing Co. purchased this building to use as a taproom and showcase the history and architecture of one of the Newfoundland’s most significant historic commercial buildings to visitors who want to enjoy local authentic and unique beers.